Learning, Connection and Fun

Historical Society

The Museum’s permanent collection started in 1958 when the first Chilliwack Museum was opened in a room in the local police station. The founders of the historical society had deep roots in the community. Brothers Oliver Wells and Casey Wells were the grandsons of A.C. Wells who settled on a farm in Sardis in 1865. As amateur historians and anthropologists they left us with our foundation collection, biographies of early settlers, interviews with Sto:lo elders, oral histories from a wide variety of people and much more.

The Board of Directors are elected at a yearly annual general meeting. Members of the Chilliwack Museum and Historical Society are eligible to be elected to the Board of Directors after 90 days of membership and must be a member in good standing. 

The Board of Directors meets at Noon on the third Thursday of each month in the Chambers Gallery at the Chilliwack Museum. 

The Chilliwack Museum and Historical Society welcomes new members year-round, with a range of categories for individuals, families, or businesses. See what type of membership is right for you!

Chilliwack Museum and Historical Society Board of Trustees 2019/2020
Charlie Fortin | President
Vivian Walker | Vice-President
Merlin Bunt | Treasurer
Fred Feistmann | Past President, Director
Esther Harder | Director
Dave Clarke | Director
Patricia Clark | Director
Alison Kaye | Director