

Chilliwack Museum and Historical Society

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Thursday, April 20th, 2023 at 7:00 pm

Chilliwack Museum Chambers Gallery

Minutes: prepared by Alison Kaye, Board Secretary

Board Members: President Pat Clark

Vice President David Clarke

Treasurer Merlin Bunt

Secretary Alison Kaye

Director Aleeta Sepass

Director Bradley Gionet

Director Jennifer Feinberg

Director Kaitlyn Janzen

City of Chilliwack Rep: Darrell Lindhout

1. Call to Order – Pat Clark, President

1.1 Board President Pat Clark called the meeting to Order at 7:00 pm.

Welcome and Acknowledgment of Stó:lō Territory by Pat Clark

- ** Robert's Rules of Order, where not inconsistent with our Bylaws, will apply to this meeting.
- 1.2 Confirmation of Quorum
 - 19 voting members present
 - 5 staff present
- 1.3 Adoption of the Agenda

Motion: THAT the Agenda be adopted at circulated.

Moved by: Wally Klassen

Second by: Jennifer Feinberg Carried

1.4 Approval of the Minutes from the **May 26, 2022** Annual General Meeting.

Motion: THAT the Minutes of the May 26, 2022 Annual General Meeting be

approved as circulated.

Moved by: Merlin Bunt

Second by: Bradley Gionet Carried

2. President's Report - Pat Clark, President

Motion: THAT the President's report be received.

Moved by: David Clarke

Second by: Merlin Bunt Carried

3. Executive Director's Report – Shawna Dwyer

The Executive Director's presentation highlighted the activities and accomplishments of the Society over the past year. The Curator, Archivist, Education & Engagement Coordinator, and Museum Coordinator presented.

Motion: THAT the Executive Director's report be received.

Moved by: Jennifer Feinberg

Second by: Marlene Dance Carried

4. Presentation of Heritage Award – Merlin Bunt, Treasurer

Laura Reid has contributed much to building a greater understanding of Chilliwack's past while bringing/presenting new ideas and innovations to keep it alive. Laura, who cofounded the Chilliwack Heritage Society is also a member of the City of Chilliwack's first Heritage Advisory Committee.

5. Finance - Merlin Bunt, Treasurer

6.1 Financial Review 2022

Motion: TO approve the Financial Review as presented.

Moved by: Merlin Bunt

Second by: Bradley Gionet Carried

6.2 Appointment of 2023 Financial Practitioner

Motion: THAT Joe Martin be appointed to conduct the 2023 Financial Review.

Moved by: Merlin Bunt

Second by: Marlene Dance Carried

7. <u>Election of Directors</u> – Dave Clarke, Vice President

Rationale: At the 2021 AGM, members approved a one-time motion creating staggered terms of office for Directors. As a result, three Directors had two-year terms which have now come to an end. All have agreed to let their names stand for re-election for 3-year terms as per Bylaw 4.7.

Motion: THAT Merlin Bunt, Alison Kaye, and Jennifer Feinberg be elected as Directors,

each for a 3-year term.

Moved by: Wally Klassen

Second by: Janet Hall Carried

8. Adjournment – Pat Clark, President

Motion: THAT the Annual General Meeting be adjourned.

Moved by: Merlin Bunt

Second by: Dave Clarke DRAFT Carried

Time: 8:10 pm